wish you were here

because now that you’re so far away, it’s hard to believe

you are real

and my mind’s not playing tricks on me again

wishful thinking

taking over. now we exchange

written words and long-distance phone calls instead of

fingertip touches, and I’m a little

untethered

never expected it to happen like this

never thought I’d have this kind of power, one that comes from sharing

and giving. makes me want to jump and grin,

take your hand and spin us into a new type of dance

I’m still learning the steps to. I can’t quite

call it love, not yet at least

but there’s more than a splash of romance in the way

our stories entwine, and I

wish you could be here, to wind your

fingers around mine and convince me that this is not just

possible,

it is real

across the space between us.

